A fine performance by Sheldon Jackson and Jani help Saurastra win the Vijay Hazare trophy 2022-23

Tags: place in news Sports

Vijay Hazare trophy 2022-23

A fine century by Sheldon Jackson (133 runs) and Chirag Jani’s  hat trick(3 for 43) helped Saurashtra defeat  Maharashtra's to win their second Vijay Hazare Trophy title (2022-23) in  the final played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad , Gujarat.

Saurashtra won the Vijay Hazare Trophy for the first time in 2007-08.

Himachal Pradesh was the 2021-22 winner.

Batting first, the Maharashtra team scored 248 for 9 in their allotted 50 overs, helped by   captain Ruturaj Gaikwad’s fourth century in five matches in the tournament to help Maharashtra post 248 for 9. Ruturaj scored 108 runs. Saurashtra scored 249 for 5 in 46.3 overs.

Sheldon Jackson was the player of the match while Ruturaj Gaikwad was declared the Player of the series.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 

The Vijay Hazare Trophy named after a famous Indian batsman Vijay Hazare. It is an annual domestic limited-overs cricket domestic competition. It is organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). 

The tournament was started in the 2002-03 season.

Tamil Nadu is the most successful team having won the trophy five times.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search