Sanjay Malhotra assume charge as Revenue Secretary

Tags: Economy/Finance Person in news

Sanjay Malhotra assume charge as Revenue Secretary

Senior bureaucrat Sanjay Malhotra assumed the charge as the secretary in the Department of Revenue, Ministry of Finance on 1 December 2022.  Sanjay Malhotra replaced Tarun Bajaj, who retired on 30 November 2022.

A 1990-batch IAS officer of the Rajasthan cadre, Malhotra was working as an officer on special duty (OSD) in the revenue department since October this year.

Malhotra takes over as the top bureaucrat in the revenue department at a time when the government is preparing for the Union Budget 2023-24 to be tabled in Parliament on1 February 2023.

Departments under the Union Ministry of Finance 

There are 6 departments under the Union Ministry of Finance. Each department performs specific functions. These departments are as follows:

 Department of Expenditure

It is responsible for the implementation of the recommendations of the Finance Commission and Central Pay Commission, monitoring of audit comments/ observations, and preparation of Central Government Accounts.

Secretary: Dr. T. V. Somanathan (He is also currently the Finance Secretary.)

Department of Economic Affairs

The Department of Economic Affairs (DEA), Ministry of Finance, assists the Central Government in maintaining sound public finances developing sound economic policies and preparing for future economic challenges and opportunities, and leading India's bilateral and multilateral and financial engagements.

 Secretary: Ajay Seth

Department of Revenue 

It exercises control in respect of matters relating to all the Direct and Indirect Union Taxes through two statutory Boards namely, the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) and the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC).

Secretary :Sanjay Malhotra

Department of Financial Services 

The mandate of the Department of Financial Services covers the functioning of Banks, Financial Institutions, Insurance Companies and the National Pension System. 

Secretary: Vivek Joshi 

DIPAM (Department of Investment and Public Asset Management)

It deals with all matters relating to management of Central Government investments in equity including disinvestment of equity in Central Public Sector Undertakings. 

Secretary:  Tuhin Kanta Pandey 

Department of Public Enterprises 

The Department of Public Enterprises is the nodal department for all the Central Public Sector Enterprises (CPSEs) and formulates policy pertaining to CPSEs.

Secretary: Ali Raza Rizvi 

Union Finance Minister: Nirmala Sitharaman

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search