Asha Parekh to be honoured with Dadasaheb Phalke Award, 2020

Tags: Awards

The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting has on 27 September announced that the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2020 will be accorded to legendary actress Asha Parekh.

Important facts

  • The award will be presented at the National Film Awards ceremony in New Delhi.

  • Asha Parekh is a renowned film actress, director and producer and an accomplished Indian classical dancer.

  • Starting her career as a child artist, she started her career as the lead heroine in Dil Deke Dekho and acted in more than 95 films.

  • She has acted in famous films like Kati Patang, Teesri Manzil, Love in Tokyo, Aaya Sawan Jhoom Ke, Aan Milo Sajna, Mera Gaon Mera Desh.

  • She was awarded the Padma Shri in 1992.

  • She has also served as the head of the Central Board of Film Certification from 1998-2001.

Five members from the film industry selected for 52nd Dadasaheb Phalke award 

  1. Asha Bhosle

  2. Hema Malini

  3. Poonam Dhillon

  4. T. S. Nagabharana

  5. Udit Narayan

About Dadasaheb Phalke Award

  • Dadasaheb Phalke Award is India's highest award in the field of cinema.

  • Rajinikanth was honoured with this award in 2019.

  • The award is given in the memory of Dadasaheb Phalke, who is regarded as the 'Father of Indian Cinema'.

  • He made the first Hindi movie, Raja Harishchandra.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search

Test Your Learning


Go To Quiz