Central government appoints Sujoy Lal Thaosen as head of CRPF and Anish Dayal Singh as ITBP head

Tags: National Person in news

The Union Ministry of Personnel  on 1 October 2022 ,announced the appointment of Senior Indian Police Service (IPS) officers Sujoy Lal Thaosen and Anish Dayal Singh as the new Director Generals of the CRPF and ITBP respectively. The notification was issued by the ministry after the Cabinet Committee on Appointment headed by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi approved their names.

Sujoy Lal Thaosen  is a 1988 batch officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre and is currently working as the Director General of Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) and is holding the additional charge of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police.

Anish Dayal Singh is a 1988-batch officer of Manipur cadre and is currently serving as a special director in the Intelligence Bureau.

 Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF)

There are seven Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) in India. They are under the Union Ministry of Home Affairs. These are ; 

  • Assam Rifles 
  • Border Security Forces(BSF)
  • Central Industrial Security Force(CISF)
  • Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF)
  • Indo Tibetan Border Force (ITBP)
  • National Security Guard(NSG)
  • Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB)

Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF)

It is the largest CAPF in India. It was set up as Crown Representative Police on 27 July 1939. It was renamed as the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) on 28 December 1949.

Moto: Service and Loyalty

Indo -Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) 

It was set up in 1962 after the Indo-China war of 1962. It is normally deployed in the Himalayan Mountains along the China border.

Motto: Valour – Steadfastness and Commitment

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -