Senior IAS officer Ajay Bhadoo appointed as Deputy Election Commissioner

Tags: Person in news

The Appointment committee of the Union Cabinet headed by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 2 October 2022, has approved the appointment of Ajay Bhadoo as the Deputy Election Commissioner of the Election Commission of India.

Ajay Bhadoo is a 1999-batch Indian Administrative Officer (IAS) officer of the Gujarat cadre. He has been appointed as the deputy election commissioner until July 24, 2024 or till further order, whichever is earlier.  

Election Commission of India 

It is a constitutional body which was set up on 25 January 1950, under article 324 of the constitution.

It is the main body which conducts election of the President, Vice-President, Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and the State Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council.

It does not conduct elections of the Panchayats and the municipalities. 

The Election Commission of India consists of the Chief Election Commissioner and two other members.

Current Chief Election commissioner: Rajiv Kumar (25th Chief Election Commissioner)

Other members: Anup Chandra Pandey

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -