Cyclist Swasti Singh gets Ekalabya Puraskar

Tags: Sports Awards Person in news

Cyclist Swasti Singh gets Ekalabya Puraskar The ‘Ekalabya Puraskar’ for the year 2022 was presented to cyclist Swasti Singh. This award is given every year to encourage young sporting talents.

Important facts

  • Singh was on 23rd December presented with a citation, trophy and Rs 5 lakh cash in a programme organised by Indian Metals Public Charitable Trust (IMPaCT), the charitable wing of IMFA.

  • She was honoured for her performance from April 1, 2020 to March 31, 2022 at both national and international levels. 

  • Football player Pyari Xaxa and Hockey player Shilanda Lakra also were honoured with a citation and Rs 50,000 cash each.

  • Billiards and snooker world champion Pankaj Advani attended the ceremony as the chief guest while Pranati Mishra, Asian Games medalist was the guest of honour.

  • Trustee Baijayant Panda, Chairman Eklabya Puraskar Committee – 2022 was present along with the jury members.

  • Mercurial cyclist Swasti has bagged two gold and as many silver medals at the national level. 

About Ekalabya Puraskar

  • Eklavya Puraskar has come a long way since 1993 to be recognized as the most prestigious sports award of Odisha and is at par with many national awards.

  • This award is given every year to the young sportspersons of Odisha for their outstanding performance in the last two years.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search