Pulitzer Prize 2022: India's Amit Dave, Danish Siddiqui get Pulitzer Prize

Tags: Latest Popular Awards

The Pulitzer Prize 2022 in different fields of journalism, book, drama and music were announced on 9 May.

  • The award winners include Indian journalists Adnan Abidi, Sana Irshad Mattoo, Amit Dave along with The Washington Post.

  • The late Danish Siddiqui of Reuters photographer has been given this award posthumously.

  • He was assassinated during a conflict between the Taliban and the Afghan army.

  • List of winners

  • Public service - winner  The Washington Post, January 6, 2021 for reporting the attack on Capitol Hill

  • Breaking news reporting - winner   Miami Herald - for coverage of the collapse of seaside apartment towers in Florida

  • Investigative reporting - winner - Rebecca Woolington's Corey G. Johnson and Tampa Bay Times' Eli Murray for highlighting the highly toxic hazards inside a Florida battery recycling plant.

  • Explanatory reporting - winner - To the staff of Quanta magazine, especially Natalie Wolchower, for reporting on how the Inco Webb Space Telescope works.

  • Local reporting - winner - Madison Hopkins of the Better Government Association and Cecilia Reyes of the Chicago Tribune - for reporting on Chicago's unfinished building and fire safety

  • National reporting - winner - Employees of The New York Times

  • International reporting - winner - The New York Times Employees

  • Feature writing - winner - Jennifer Senior of The Atlantic

  • Feature photography - winner - Adnan Abidi, Sana Irshad Mattoo, Amit Dave and the late Danish Siddiqui of Reuters were honoured for photography during the Corona period in India.

  • Commentary - winner - Melinda Heineberger

  • Criticism - winner - Salamisha Tillet, The New York Times

  • Audio reporting - winner - Employees of Futuro Media and PRX

  • Novel - winner - The Netanyas, Writer- Joshua Cohen

  • About Pulitzer Prize

  • It was established in 1917.  

  • It is administered by Columbia University and the Pulitzer Prize Board.

  • The award is named after Joseph Pulitzer.

  • He was a newspaper publisher who gave money in his will to Columbia University to launch a journalism school and establish the Prize.

  • Each winner receives a certificate and a US$15,000 cash prize.

  • A gold medal is awarded to the winner in the Public Service category.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -