Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar to lead India at the ASEAN-India Commemorative Summit in Cambodia

Tags: Summits Person in news

ASEAN-India Commemorative Summit

According to the Ministry of External Affairs press release issued on 7 November 2022 the Vice President of India Jagdeep Dhankhar will visit Cambodia from the 11t-13th of November 2022 to attend the ASEAN-India Commemorative Summit and the 17th East Asia Summit. The Vice President will be accompanied by External Affairs Minister Dr. S. Jaishankar. 

During his three day official visit, the Vice President will attend the ASEAN-India Commemorative Summit in Phnom Penh on 12th November 2022.

He will also participate in the 17th East Asia Summit on 13th November 2022.

This year marks the 30th anniversary of ASEAN-India relations and is being celebrated as the ASEAN-India Friendship Year. 

He will also have bilateral engagements with the Cambodian leadership and leaders from other countries. 

India -ASEAN meeting 

As per the Look East foreign policy of the Narasimha Rao government in 90s, the government of India focussed on increasing trade and investment with East Asia with special focus on ASEAN.

Evolution of India -ASEAN relationship 

India was initially made a sectoral partner by ASEAN in 1992. With the increasing depth in the relationships the status was changed to a Dialogue Partner in 1996.

In 2022 the relationship was further upgraded to Summit level

And finally in 2012 it was elevated to Strategic partnership.

Association of Southeast Asian Nation (ASEAN)

It was set up in 1967 as a group of South-East Asian nations.

At present there are 10 members in the group. They are 

Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The headquarters of ASEAN: Jakarta, Indonesia.

East Asia Summit  

The East Asia Summit is a regional forum set up by ASEAN (Association of SouthEast Asian Nations) with Regional powers of the Asia-Pacific region including United States and Russia to further cooperation on strategic and economic cooperation in the region.

The EAS has 18 member countries. It includes all the 10 ASEAN countries (Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam) and Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, Russia and the US.

Whichever ASEAN country is the chairman of ASEAN hosts the EAS related meeting in its country. Currently Cambodia is the chairman of ASEAN.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -