7 new districts in West Bengal

Tags: State News

The West Bengal government led by Mamata Banerjee decided to create seven new districts in the state to ease the administrative work.

Important facts

  • Earlier there were 23 districts in Bengal which has now increased to 30.

  • The names of the seven new districts are Sunderban, Ichmeti, Ranaghat, Bishnupur, Jangipur, Behrampur, Basirhat.

  • One new Sunderbans district will be created from South 24-Parganas district and two new districts will be created from North 24-Parganas district.

  • Ichhamati district in Bongaon subdivision and another district (whose name is yet to be decided) in Basirhat will be created.

  • Ranaghat, a town and municipality in Nadia district, will become the fourth new district.

  • A new district named Bishnupur will be created from the existing Bankura district and two new districts Baharampur and Jangipur will be created from Murshidabad district.

How and why are districts created or abolished in India?

  • The state governments have the right to create districts or change their borders.

  • The government can pass a law in the Legislative Assembly or simply issue an order and notify it in the Official Gazette.

  • There is no interference of the Centre in this matter.

  • According to a website run by the Government of India, there are currently 718 districts in the country.

About West Bengal 

  • Neighbouring Countries - It is bordered by Bangladesh in the east, Nepal and Bhutan in the north.

  • Neighbouring States - Assam, Jharkhand, Bihar, Sikkim and Odisha are joined by its border.

  • Capital- Kolkata

  • Governor- Jagdeep Dhangarh

  • Chief Minister- Mamata Banerjee

  • Number of Assembly seats - 294

  • Lok Sabha seats- 42

  • Rajya Sabha seats- 16

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -