Suresh N. Patel sworn in as Central Vigilance Commissioner

Tags: Person in news

Suresh N. Patel took oath as the Central Vigilance Commissioner in the presence of President Draupadi Murmu at a function held at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Important facts

  • He replaces former Central Vigilance Commissioner Sanjay Kothari.

  • Suresh N Patel was appointed Vigilance Commissioner in April 2020.

  • The Central Vigilance Commission is headed by the Central Vigilance Commissioner and may consist of two Vigilance Commissioners.

About Central Vigilance Commission 

  • CVC is an apex vigilance institution, which is free from any executive authority.

  • It is an independent body whose accountability is only to the Parliament.

  • It was established in February 1964 on the basis of the recommendations of the Anti-Corruption Committee constituted under the chairmanship of K. Santhanam.

  • The Central Vigilance Commission Act, 2003 (CVC Act) has been enacted by the Parliament conferring statutory status on CVC.

  • It submits its report to the President of India.

Appointment of commissioners

  • The Central Vigilance Commissioner and Vigilance Commissioners are appointed by the President on the recommendation of a committee consisting of the Prime Minister (Chairman), the Home Minister (Member) and the Leader of the Opposition (Member) in the Lok Sabha.


  • Their tenure is for 4 years or 65 years (whichever is earlier).

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -