Prime Minister Narendra Modi launches development projects in Varanasi

Tags: State News

Prime-Minister-Narendra-Modi-launches-development-projects-in-VaranasiPrime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated and laid the foundation stone for 29 development projects worth over Rs 12,100 crore in Varanasi on July 7, 2023.

An Overview of the News: 

  • The projects aim to boost infrastructure and improve the quality of life in Varanasi.
  • The projects included the inauguration of 19 projects worth 10,720 crore rupees and the laying of the foundation stone for 10 projects worth 1,389 crore rupees.

Dedication of Infrastructure Projects: 

  • Prime Minister Modi dedicated the Pandit Deendayal Upadhyaya Junction-Sone Nagar railway line of the Dedicated Freight Corridor built at a cost of over Rs 6,760 crore.
  • He also inaugurated three railway lines and widening to four-lanes of Varanasi-Jaunpur section of NH-56.

Inauguration of several projects:

  • Several projects were inaugurated, including the construction and renovation of PWD roads, an International Girls Hostel building on the BHU campus and a vocational training centre in Karsara village.
  • A unique floating changing room jetty was also inaugurated at Dashashwamedh Ghat to facilitate bathing in river Ganga.

Foundation stone of projects:

  • PM Modi laid the foundation stone for construction of 3 two-lane rail over bridges, construction and renovation of 15 PWD roads, redevelopment of Manikarnika and Harishchandra ghats and floating changing room ghats at six ghats and 192 rural drinking water schemes under Jal Jeevan Mission.

About Uttar Pradesh:

  • Uttar Pradesh is a state located in the northern part of India.
  • It has a population of over 240 million, making it the most populous state in India as well as the most populous subdivision in the world.
  • The state was officially established in 1950.
  • Capital - Lucknow (Executive Branch)
  • Governor - Anandiben Patel
  • Chief Minister - Yogi Adityanath
  • Assembly: 403 seats
  • Legislative Council: 100 seats
  • Rajya Sabha - 31 seats
  • Lok Sabha - 80 seats

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -