Centre announces constitution of National level Committee for drafting of National Cooperation Policy

Tags: National National News

The Union Home and Cooperation Minister, Amit Shah on 6 September announced the constitution of a National level committee for drafting of the national cooperation policy document.


  • The national level committee, headed by former Union cabinet minister Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu, comprises 47 members from all parts of the country.
  • The committee comprises experts from the cooperative sector, representatives of national, state and district cooperatives, secretary cooperatives and registrars of cooperative societies of states and union territories.


National Cooperation Policy :

  • The new National Cooperation Policy is being formulated to realize the vision of 'Sahakar Se Samriddhi ' under the leadership of Prime Minister, Narendra Modi.

  • Union Home and Cooperation Minister Amit Shah had recently announced that a National Cooperative Policy would soon be formulated to take a holistic approach to the above PACS cooperatives.

  • The new National Cooperative Policy document is being prepared with a view to fulfill the mandate given to the new Ministry of Cooperation.

  • The current National Policy on Cooperation was formulated in 2002.

  • Its objective was to facilitate the all-round development of co-operative societies and to provide them with the necessary support, encouragement and assistance.

Objectives of the new policy :

  • To realize the vision of 'Sahakar Se Samriddhi’

  • To empower the cooperative movement in the country and strengthen its reach at the grassroots level

  • To promote a cooperative based economic development model and to support the cooperative sector in realizing its potential

  • Creating legal and institutional infrastructure.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search

Test Your Learning


Go To Quiz