South Africa wins the cricket Test Series 2-1

Tags: Sports News

South Africa defeated the Indian cricket team in the 3rd and final test match and won the Freedom series 2-1. The Indian team has never won a test series in South Africa.

Dean Elgar was the captain of South Africa and Virat Kohli captained India in the first and the third Test. Vice-Captain K. L. Rahul led India in the second test match as Virat was not fit.

Series at a glance 

1st Test was played at Centurion (December  26-30,  2021) 

India won the test match by 113 runs and  K.L. Rahul was the man of the match 

The 2nd Test was played at Wanderers stadium in Johannesburg (January 3-6, 2022).

 South Africa won the test match by 7 wickets.

South African Captain Dean Elgar was the Man of the match.

The 3rd Test was played at Cape Town (January 11-14, 2022).

South Africa won by 7 wickets and Keegan Petersen of South Africa was the man of the match.

Man of the Series: Keegan Peterson of South Africa.

Freedom trophy

  • The Test cricket series between India and South Africa is called as Freedom series and the winner of the series is given Freedom Trophy 
  • The Freedom Trophy was instituted in memory of Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela.
  • It was awarded for the first time in 2015 to the winner of the India -South Africa test series.
  • In 2015 it was won by India.
  • The 2022 trophy was won by South Africa.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search