Telangana formation day

Tags: State News Important Days

Telangana Formation Day is celebrated every year on 2nd June as Telangana emerged as the 29th state of India on 2nd June 2014.

  • This day remembers the sacrifice and cooperation of all those people who laid down their lives in making this separate state.

  • History of State

  • Telangana was divided from the erstwhile Madras on 1 November 1956 and the Telugu speaking people merged with Andhra Pradesh.

  • In 1969, there was a protest and agitation for a new state in the Telangana region.

  • After protests, a separate new state was formed in 1972 in the form of Andhra Pradesh.

  • After nearly 40 years of opposition, the Telangana Bill was passed in the Lok Sabha by the Congress Working Committee and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in February 2014.

  • The bill was introduced in the Indian Parliament in 2014 and the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act got its nod in the same year.

  • According to the bill, Telangana was formed by ten districts of north-western Andhra Pradesh.

  • About Telangana State 

  • Capital- Hyderabad

  • Governor- Tamilisai Soundararajan

  • Chief Minister- K. Chandrashekhar Rao

  • Legislative Assembly seats- 119

  • Lok Sabha seats - 17

  • State Bird- Palpitta or Neelkanth

  • State Animal – Jinka or Blackbuck

  • State flower- Tangedu

  • Important facts 




1 November


1 May


1 May

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -