J&K to host G20 summit in 2023

Tags: Latest Summits

The summit of the G-20, an influential grouping of the world's major economies, will be organised by the Government of India in 2023 in Jammu and Kashmir next year.

  • 20 countries including China, USA, Canada, Germany, Turkey will participate in this conference.

  • India will chair the G20 from December 1, 2022 and will host the G20 leaders' summit for the first time in the year 2023.

  • The Government of India has approved the formation of a committee for all coordination of the G-20 Summit to be held in the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir. The chairman of this committee will be the Principal Secretary of the Housing and Urban Development Department of the Union Territory.

  • Along with this, the members of the committee will include Commissioner Secretary (Transport), Administrative Secretary (Tourism), Administrative Secretary (Hospitality and Protocol) and Administrative Secretary (Culture).

  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been leading India's representation at the G20 summit since 2014.

  • India has been a part of the G-20 group since 1999. At the same time, from 1 December 2021 to 30 November 2024, India is also a part of the G-20 Troika.

  • Union Minister of Commerce and Industry Piyush Goyal was appointed Sherpa of India for G20.

  • G-20 Group 

  • Group of 20 or G-20 is a multilateral organisation which was set up in 1999.

  • It consists of the world's major developed and developing countries.

  • It consists of 19 countries and the European Union. The member countries are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States.

  • The presidency of the G20 rotates every year among its members, with the country that holds the presidency working together with its predecessor and successor, also known as Troika, to ensure the continuity of the agenda. Currently Italy, Indonesia, and India are the Troika countries.

  • Italy was the President of the G-20 in 2021. Indonesia is the President for 2022 and India will be the President in 2023. 

  • The first Summit meeting of the leaders of the G-20 was held in 2008 at Washington, United States.

  • The G20 has no permanent secretariat.

  • G-20 members constitute 60% of the world population, 80% of the World economy and 75% of world trade.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -